PDA

View Full Version : Home lights controled by voice



mathieu660
08-25-2006, 06:15 AM
Hi everybody, i'm new to the forum. I'm currently studying in electronic (Just started since 1 week). I got an idea, i wanted to open/close my domestic lights (120v) by voice. The idea is quite simple i juste want to say 'Lights open' and 'Lights close' and the lights will open/close. I think this project is not very difficult, but because i don't have much experiance and knowledge in the subject for the moment i wanted to have some help to do this project. Thx

ppppking04
08-25-2006, 07:16 AM
The software part i guess...(maybe a bit too complex for just lights ON/OFF...there can be a simpler solution maybe)

http://www.roboticsindia.com/modules.php?name=News&file=print&sid=115

As far as the hardware part goes you can check out the parallel port tutorial and interfacing using relays....
Also do go through bibin john's ebook about parallel port...

If you just want to control the lights maybe an infrared control could be the answer....

mathieu660
08-25-2006, 08:28 AM
Thx for your answer, i saw that article already. But i don't want a computer to drive the system. I simply want a micro controlor orsomthing like that if i could use somthing easier and cheaper. If the circuit could be smal it could be great too. Like monted on the back of the on/off lights switch.

ppppking04
08-25-2006, 08:45 AM
Hmmm...there are speech recognition ICs available...google for them...

If you want something simpler maybe this should help....

http://www.electronic-circuits-diagrams.com/remotecontrolsimages/remotecontrolsckt4.shtml

You can alter the LED part! But then its not as impressive as speech recognition! :)

docel
08-25-2006, 09:55 AM
.
http://roboticsindia.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1029&highlight=

allbits
08-25-2006, 11:16 PM
i've done a project on this

the key is HM2007 .. it works!! but make sure to do it in a completely noise-less atmosphere. Sometimes it misbehaves, i think is due to the mic..

You might need to get the chip from US - imagesco is selling them. They also have the PCBs.. its quite a small circuit, and you have good control if used in CPU mode.

And dont forget the SRAM.