PDA

View Full Version : which microcont. to use for my first robot...



ognjen
10-12-2004, 04:03 AM
... which microcontroler and motor driver to use for my first robot.. thanks
ognjen

vikas
10-12-2004, 08:59 PM
If your setting out ... u can try dead simple line follower ( no uC or L293D ) or if you wan to go in for uC try some low end uC with ICP interface and make your own hbridge :) or go in for a L293D IC ( Rs 125 )

10-12-2004, 09:56 PM
If your setting out ... u can try dead simple line follower ( no uC or L293D ) or if you wan to go in for uC try some low end uC with ICP interface and make your own hbridge :) or go in for a L293D IC ( Rs 125 )
...thanks!... i`m novice in robotics... i`m serbia... and here, we cant get stuff for robots that ease... i`ll try with line follower... what i need... for that... and can you tell me more about h-bridge ad how to make it... thanks!!!
ognjen

ice
10-12-2004, 10:23 PM
ognjen,
It will be easier and better if u could get the driver chips....
U need to work out with transistors and alot of matching in circuitry to ge it to work..The chips work out cheaper
go to Texas instruments site
http://www.ti.com
and see for distributors in your area for L293D....
anyway what's the temperature in Serbia now? :D
ice
//Gerry

vikas
10-12-2004, 10:31 PM
The problem is the same here in india anyway

for simple hbridge circuit ... easy to ge components
http://www.roboticsindia.com/modules.php?name=Wiki&page=MotorDrivers

Line follower projects
http://www.roboticsindia.com/modules.php?name=Wiki&page=AmatureProjects

for the line follower try www.robotroom.com - sandwich series of analog line follower .

ognjen
10-12-2004, 11:31 PM
...thanks guys... now in serbia is about 8 c... in last few days i spoke with gerry... with him i get much information... how much is l293d there... what is temperature in india now...

ognjen
10-12-2004, 11:38 PM
...great, great...... can you tell me more about the crystal... thanks!!! :D :?:

ice
10-13-2004, 08:04 AM
Damn,must be real cold .Here it's around 30C

Did you check out the wiki links Vikas posted.Their neat links for beginners!
About the crystal,it's used to excite your microcontroller.W/o a crystal,it won't work even if u give power to ur micro.The micro needs something to keep it tickling it :D
Hmmm...i think ur nearest dealer is in russia...check the below TI distributor link
http://focus.ti.com/docs/general/distribcountryresults.jhtml?countryCode=RU
http://focus.ti.com/docs/general/distributor.jhtml
ice
//Gerry

ice
10-13-2004, 08:06 AM
..and for Ukraine
http://focus.ti.com/docs/general/distribcountryresults.jhtml?countryCode=UA

ognjen
10-13-2004, 09:36 PM
... i`m doing well.... That mean... when i programm my microc. he need some power all the time... or he`ll lose information...??? I get NOPPP for 16f84... what can you tell me about *.hex... do i most to put information in shape of *.hex... THANKS!! :D

ognjen
10-13-2004, 09:45 PM
...ther`s no serbia... full name of my country is serbia and montenegro... or SCG...
// ognjen :(

ice
10-13-2004, 09:55 PM
no ,not when ur programming it,
when ur running it it needs a crystal.
programming a micro is done in 3 steps:
1>u write ur program in C or assembly
2>U then complie it into a .hex file [0 and 1's],so that the mico understands ur program
3>u then burn or load ur microcontroller through ur programmer.
4>now ur microcontroller has the program in it's own memory.u can disconnect it and put /use it in ur application

Yup,Nopp is one of the pic programmers,google for these PIC programmers:
Elcheapo
JDM
But there are also atmels,Avr microcontrollers

ice
//Gerry

ognjen
10-14-2004, 01:28 AM
... can i conect, and how motor to par. port without any motor drivers...
/ognjen/

ognjen
10-14-2004, 02:45 AM
... sorry that was a stupid question... i get that... first i must to make 01 to...... it`s ok...
/ognjen

ognjen
10-16-2004, 03:47 AM
... i`m doin` great i got 16f84, and some other parts... a just need to get l283d... do you knoe how they put some audio(music...) in chip or in what... thanks
/ognjen

ognjen
10-16-2004, 03:50 AM
...it`s l293d...

ice
10-16-2004, 07:20 AM
Wow,....nice 8)
You can interface chips that can do voice for eg the speakjet. chip,ypu just give it a command and it will say the word.
Also check this link for audio playback
http://centauri.ezy.net.au/~fastvid/picsound.htm

good luck on ur l293d ,till then u can fiddle around with LED's.... :D

ice
//Gerry

ognjen
10-16-2004, 05:44 PM
... thanks gerry!! i have a problem... i cant find crystal.... can you tell me more about it... what you say... can i start with simle comparator brain line follower.... ad what i need for that... thanks!!!
/ognjen

ice
10-16-2004, 06:32 PM
Till you get your F84 running,yea u an test ur sensors and all using a comparator.
abt the crystal,Aren't there any eletronic dealers there or any online stores over there...?there have to be
-ice
//Gerry

ognjen
10-16-2004, 09:53 PM
...i found places where i can buy stuff for my work... but crystal is ... hard to find... they sey that they`ll get it in november... gerry, where i can find data sheet for f84... thanks!!

ice
10-16-2004, 10:01 PM
http://microchip.com/stellent/idcplgidcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1335&dDocName=en010230

The page has alot of resources
-ice

ognjen
10-17-2004, 12:12 AM
...THANKS!!!
/Ognjen

ognjen
10-20-2004, 01:28 AM
... i took ir things from some old videoplayer and his remote... only thing that is wrote on receptor is 94v-0... can you help.... thanks!!!!

ice
10-20-2004, 11:35 PM
only thing that is wrote on receptor is 94v-0.
...sorry didn't get u...
kewl...now ur ripping things apart... :D

ognjen
10-21-2004, 06:58 PM
... on borad where i took receptor was writen rm601... is that of help :?:

ognjen
10-21-2004, 11:15 PM
... is there any way to find out gnd, input and output of this ir receptor... thanks!!

vikas
10-21-2004, 11:48 PM
Thats a difficult one :) . Usally the + and - pins are grouped together and data pin is a little away from the two pins :) ... It is usally active low . And the - pin is on the outside ..

something like this

http://roboticsindia.com/public/images/ir/tsop.gif

10-22-2004, 12:59 AM
if u ripped it off the vcr,then backtrace the connections...how many trerminals has it got...
the only link i got with ur search is...
http://www.hamradio-badarc.co.uk/video/vcr2/saishosamvcr.htm

the sensor's made by samsung....

ice

ognjen
10-22-2004, 09:19 PM
... i found it!!! thanks guys!! i certainly know that emitter diode works on 3v... what that mean for receptor... sorry if i`m annoying.... thanks!!!!

farzan
11-15-2004, 01:28 PM
hi,

i started my first robot with 8051 and i suggest the same.
u can get AT89s8252 for ur first robot b'cos it is easily programmable and the programmer can be assembed easily. for driving DC motors u can use L293D.

all the best

ognjen
11-19-2004, 07:31 PM
... i`m finishing my project... and becouse some reason i dont know... this... how much power i need to charge 3x1.5v batteries... for charger i`ll use adapter (input 220v-50Hz 9W; output 12v dc 500mA)... which resistor to use to low power for charging... THANKS!