PDA

View Full Version : DC motor using H-bridge



Imaginova
12-19-2006, 10:17 AM
Hi,

I want to control a DC-motor for my robot.

Do i need to connect any ultrfast diode to the H-bridge for its function?

If anybody having schematic for DC motor control.Plz give it to me.

Thanks,

ppppking04
12-19-2006, 10:34 AM
What IC you using? or constructed H-Bridge with discrete components.

IF your current ratings are satisfied, use L293D which has internal diodes.
Check its datasheet...

Imaginova
12-19-2006, 11:26 AM
Hey,
I m using L298. and ATMEGA8

allbits
12-19-2006, 12:20 PM
yes, use diodes...

normal ones are enough.
The datasheet has the details, that will be sufficient. Ground the current sense pins.

pratikmahale
03-03-2008, 06:32 PM
Hi,

I am using L298 ic for controlling two 2 Amp , 24 V DC motors.

Is it necessary to use fast recovery diode or else I can use normal 3 amp diode like IN5408 ,because in L298 datasheet its recommends fast recovery diode with trr <200 nsec & VF as low as possible

The cost of fast recovery diode 1N5416 is around 15/- each

I need 8 diodes that’s cost to Rs. 120/- which is more than the value of L298

Or any other low cost fast recovery diode I can use with L298