PDA

View Full Version : Navigation Sensors

counter_struck
02-29-2008, 08:05 PM
Hi, I am an electronic engineer student. I have been given a project to design a mobile autonomous robot. My part in the project is the design of the navigation sensors and their software implementation. We are supplied with a toy car and must use this for our design.

I am having difficulty figuring how to estimate the position of our robot using ultrasonic and infrared sensors. We need to move our car from point A to B. However our problem is, when we aviod obstacles how do does the robot car get back to the course, and not wander around?

Any help will be appreciative :D

rao
02-29-2008, 10:21 PM
IT would be easy, if you can deduce a relation between two things :

Let the robot turn with 0 angle to the axis at a fixed velocity,same in magnitude,opposite in polarity on both wheels.

Now deduce a relation between the time taken for the robot rotating on a fixed axis (i.e. delay time to the motors ON command) and angle it rotates in that much time. So you can make a function called angle where when you give a certain angle, it is multiplied to a conversion factor and converted into a delay of milliseconds or something for which the robot turns to attain that angle.

Now, as soon as an obstacle is detected, define two arrays, angle and distance and sequentially store the values of angle turned and distance travelled in that angle to avoid the obstacle , after the object is out of range, track back on the array by inverting the angles (+ becomes -) and keeping distances the same. But to track back, follow the array from the last element to the first.

Try that out, if you face any problems, Let me know.

Rao

counter_struck
03-01-2008, 01:55 AM