PDA

View Full Version : Building long range IR sensors

counter_struck
03-12-2008, 12:56 PM
Hey

I am a student from South Africa and the required components I need are either not avaliable here, or are too expensive to source overseas. I want to build a long range sensor that can detect up to 2 - 2.5 metres.

It would take too long to build and debug an ultrasonic sensor. I want to build a long range IR sensor. I have researched about robot wars, and a concept of using Infrared detector modules....like those used in TVs was used. Each bot had a receiver....the detector module and a IR LED as a transmitter. The transmitter acted as a beacon and Bots used their detector module to detect other bots. Ranges can reach over 30ft.

I want to use this concept in navigating my bot through a circuit in my universtiy. I want to use a transmiiter and detector pair on either side of the car....to keep the car equidistant from the walls.

Is this a suitable solution to my problem? is there any IR sensor circuit that can do the same range of 2 -2.5m?

docel
03-13-2008, 09:01 PM
This forum is full of solutions for this. Search TSOP1738.

The TSOPxxxx is your cheap and best bet.

But read the datasheet THROUGHLY before you use it :!:
It needs a whole lot of monkey tricks for short distance, though.

docel
03-13-2008, 09:03 PM
This forum is full of solutions for this. Search TSOP1738.

The TSOPxxxx is your cheap and best bet.

But read the datasheet THROUGHLY before you use it :!:
It needs a whole lot of monkey tricks for short distance, though.
The simplest thing is to use the TSOPxxxx with a broken-off TV remote control.......

shreek1123581321
03-22-2008, 08:23 PM