PDA

View Full Version : Stepper Motor help

rohan_bhatia
03-21-2008, 09:43 AM
hi friends..
i am very new to robot making, rite now i am working on a general purpose robot driven by stepper motors.I am using a PIC 16f877a as the uC and uln 2003 as driving circuit. I am able to run everything with a 12v adapter with 1A current.But my problem is arises when i come down to the battery. I am using a 12 V lead acid battery with 1.3 AH rating. This battery provides too much current for the uln 2003 and they burn out. So basically i need help for limiting this current.I thought of using a 7810 this would automatically limit the current to 1 A or i could use another circuit but i dont know which would be a good solution. So please could someone help me with a solution, looking forward to it.thanks in advance..

ppppking04
03-21-2008, 09:47 AM
What are the ratings /specs of your stepper motor?

Also are you using any other form of current limiting?

refer http://www.cs.uiowa.edu/~jones/step/current.html

rohan_bhatia
03-21-2008, 10:12 AM
I am not a 100% sure of the rating. cause they arnt wriiten on the motor, its a shinano make model STP-42D162 1.8 deg step angle. and as per the current , i am just using an 7805 to power the pic circuit , n that has been working fine

rohan_bhatia
03-21-2008, 12:21 PM
The measured resistance / phase is =30 ohm n these motors for those resistances are made for= 12 v so the current/phase is =0.4A.
Please help out. Have no clue as to which circuit to use for limiting current

allbits
03-21-2008, 12:33 PM
ULN might be burning out because you might be 'Holding' the motor for some time. PWM might be the solution for you. or,

1) try reducing the voltage, at the trade off of torque.
2) Measure the current consumed. - If the current is a bit too high, (than ULN can handle ) switch to transistors.
3) Lower current = lower torque, so decide on your torque requirements.

rohan_bhatia
03-21-2008, 01:46 PM