PDA

View Full Version : AVR programmer schematics -- a bit confused !



robopath
04-07-2008, 01:48 AM
Hello everyone,
I am a beginner in robotics and currently trying to do my first project. I have started with AVRs and I need to make a parallel port in circuit programmer for the ATmega8 microcontroller. I did tried googling and came up with different schematics for the programmer :o :o :o :o

Now I dont know which one to go with ..

Can there be different schematics to program an AVR via the same printer/parallel port ? ??? ??? ??? ???

here is what I found:

http://www.opend.co.za/tutorials/avrtut2/avricp.png

http://gopchandani.files.wordpress.com/2007/02/avr-isp.gif

http://www.avr-asm-tutorial.net/avr_gra/avr_isp.gif

I understand, that these schematics maybe for different AVRs like Atmega32 or Atmega16, but we can use the programmer to program Any AVR provided we connect the MISO/SCK/MOSI etc, of microcontroller with respective wires of the programmer, only pin number would change if we shift from ATmega8 To ATmega32, and the desired pins of the microcontroller can be identified using the Datasheet. Am I correct?

Do correct me if I am wrong ..

Can anyone provide the schematics of a working Parallel Port Programmer for ATmega8/16 and 32?

Many thanks!

superchiku
04-07-2008, 03:22 AM
u see the differences in the circuits are only minor, it actually came out like that due to some features which the designer wanted to add to protect the micro nothing special all do the same job just that ppl write the Letter 'a' a little differently from others same is here with the programmer schematics

If u want a parallel port programmer , u can make one within the cost of 1$ i assure u , just go to any computer shop and ask for a 36 pin centronics printer cable.thats all u need for a programmer but it has its disadvantages , the 1st and foremost that everything u can only be done manually and also that u can use only winavr and avrdude to program the device. These are some minor problems but do look at what u spent for a programmer just $1

The connections should be like this:

CENTRONICS CONNECTOR(36 HOLE SIDE) MICROCONTROLLER PINS
PIN 7 -------------------------------------- RESET
PIN 8 --------------------------------------- SCK
PIN 9 ------------------------------------------ MOSI
PIN 10 --------------------------------------- MISO
PIN 19 ----------------------------------------- GROUND


THATS BASICALLY ALL U HAVE TO DO , TRY IT IF U GOT ANY PROBLEMS THEN POST IN THIS FORUM

robopath
04-07-2008, 09:11 AM
Thanks a lot for your quick reply but if you noticed, there is a notable difference in all those programmers:



The first one has ( http://www.opend.co.za/tutorials/avrtut2/avricp.png )

Pin 2------------------------------------SCK
Pin 3------------------------------------RST
Pin 9------------------------------------MOSI
Pin 11----------------------------------MISO
Pin 25-----------------------------------GND



while the other one says,
( http://gopchandani.files.wordpress.com/2007/02/avr-isp.gif )

Pin2--Pin11
pin3--Pin12
Pin6-----------------------SCK
Pin7-----------------------MOSI
Pin9-----------------------RST
Pin10----------------------MISO
Pin25---------------------GND


while this one says :
( http://www.avr-asm-tutorial.net/avr_gra/avr_isp.gif )

Pin18-pin25-- all GND


And you said:
PIN 7 -------------------------------------- RESET
PIN 8 --------------------------------------- SCK
PIN 9 ------------------------------------------ MOSI
PIN 10 --------------------------------------- MISO
PIN 19 ----------------------------------------- GROUND


there is a whole lot difference in pin configurations !

I did read somewhere that the wrong Parallel Port Programmer can BLOW up my printer port as well as some part of motherboard! :?


I am using a DB25 cable .. with the 25 pin male header.

Thanks once again!

superchiku
04-07-2008, 12:37 PM
the differences are due to the fact that one programmer may be stk500 one may stk200 etc so its upto u what u make , but i reccomend just follow the procedure i have mentioned , it will cost u nothing but can give u good results

only disadvantage is that it wont work with ponyprog or avrstudio since its a bsd programmer but with avrdude it works fine

mvharish
04-07-2008, 08:54 PM
http://images.google.co.in/imgres?imgurl=http://www.ulrichradig.de/site/atmel/avr_basekit/gfx/avr_isp.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.ulrichradig.de/home/index.php/avr/base_kit_avr&h=513&w=588&sz=36&hl=en&start=85&sig2=WSZlR6_wN-Hi023cseGVZw&tbnid=OtM5NqoqUED4jM:&tbnh=118&tbnw=135&ei=6zr6R8KYBobA6gPn5a3mAw&prev=/images%3Fq%3Davr%2Bisp%26start%3D72%26gbv%3D2%26nd sp%3D18%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN
This is an ISP for AVRs that works for sure.

Nivedita
04-07-2008, 09:52 PM
http://www.deccanrobots.com
Visit free Stuff under this site.
Download FreeISP for AVR.

sjerry4u
04-16-2008, 09:03 PM
here is one more simple programmer
http://sjerry4u.freehostia.com/micro2.html
http://sjerry4u.freehostia.com/micro4.html
can be used with winavr and ponyprog
I have successfully used it with ATmega32,16,162
and it will definitely work with atmega8