PDA

View Full Version : Help with using TSOP1738 for line sensing using ATMEGA16

mohitkhanna3v_infinate
06-27-2008, 06:55 PM
Im using TSOP1738 and LED to detect difference in white and black line. Im trying to generate 38MHz frequency from Atmega16 using the Formula,

ORC0=((8000000)/38000)-1

where 8000000is the timer0 value. and 38000 is required frequency.

The LED is glowing but I dont have any device to confirm whether the produced frequency in correct or not. Im expecting that the TSOP1738 Voltage should go down if I bring the LED face to face ner it. But I dont Observe any kind of voltage variation in TSOP on bringing LED to any direction against TSOP even when touching, or far away. TSOp is just coutinously giving voltage of arnd 1.6 Volts without any variation.

My friend had tried it sometime back as well using TSOP1738 only, and yet he was also unable to do it. Is it some problem in frequency produced by Atmega16? or am I doing some other mistake?

PS> Im new to Robotics, so plz dont mind if im asking a silly question, but ive searched the forumns but cldnt get much help.

PS> Though I dont have problem using IC 555, but I would prefer using Atmega16 as manufactureres have provided in it the required feature, and Im not much keen in increasing my PCB size in using an extra IC.

mohitkhanna3v_infinate
06-27-2008, 06:57 PM
Sry, 1 mistake in typing....

In the formula above, its

((8000000/(2*38000)))-1

docel
06-28-2008, 12:03 AM
TSOP wont work for LFR. It is too sensitive and difficult to adjust at that height.

Check your OCR mode and the formula again.

mohitkhanna3v_infinate
06-28-2008, 12:39 AM
TSOP do work.... my friend did it, but he used IC555 for powering LED the required frequency. But I want to keep IC555 the last option. I want to do it via Atmega's internal frequency generator so as to save money as well as space.