PDA

View Full Version : Help Using Phototransistor for line following

mohitkhanna3v_infinate
07-01-2008, 01:09 AM
This is my first time with phototransistors. Ive read some tutorials over the web and many posts here, and also seen many circuit diagrams using phototransistors. But I cnt figure out what I am doing wong. I cant refer the datasheets however as I dont know what this phototransistor that i have, is called. Its just like an LED but dark, blackish and opaque. I searched for datasheets for phototransistors, but there are so many different datasheets for different phototransistors, that it confuses me more.

Refer to this circuit:

http://www.itee.uq.edu.au/~emami/metr2800/sensor.gif

Im expecting that if I connect the V out from phototransistor to the Multimeter, then I should be able to see remarkable variation in the voltage. I dont want to connect it to the ADC of MCU without confirming that it is giving proper voltage variation.

docel
07-01-2008, 10:06 AM
You have an IR detector LED, not a PhotoDiode............

[Please keep to the point and describe the component/problem etc., in detail instead of other things. This will make it clear to the readers. There is no need to tell US about your search etc.,....!
- Mod ]

walter
07-02-2008, 02:23 AM