PDA

View Full Version : control of a robotic arm using neuro fuzzy system.

arunshivanandan
01-08-2005, 02:03 AM
hi all,
this is my first post in this forum.I am doing B.Tech in Mech.Engg in nitc.ac.in.i want to do a project related to robotics.the problem is,i dont have much idea about robotics,i am only starting to learn things.as a bigining,i had made a biped with 4 dc motors and interfaced it thru parallel port.the dc motors were cheap ones,with i myself adding the reduction.there was no feedback at all.
now i want to do a better project.i have some basic knowledge of ANN Fuzzy Systems,so i was thinking about fabricating a robotic arm and doing some control using ANN-Fuzzy.I have 3 stepper motors(1.8 degree resolution)..can someone suggest any good project;like whether to build a (movable)platform and place the arm on it etc etc and what should i control,obstacle avoidance of the arm or the platform etce etc
I have some crude encoders made from those coming with scroll mouses.i added a belt and pulley system, so that it has got pretty good resolution.
i have a budget of abt 6000 rs max.
Thanks in adv,
Arun.[/b]

vikas
01-08-2005, 11:06 AM
Using crude things u wont achive much precision . Also for an arm you will need feedback like the servo motors . For arms SErvos are always recommended .

There are lots of projects with the arm that you could do ... But will have to figure out IKS first .

My advice build a fixed arm . Get the basic movement working and depending on the precision you get decide on a project .

arunshivanandan
01-08-2005, 04:00 PM
hi vikas,
thank you wery much for your advice.
i certainly want to do a better project, but money is a huge constraint!!but not having money cant justify not doing a project and thats why i built all these from scrap.
the 'crude' encoder has got pretty good resolution.the one coming with mouse had 36 holes and i added a 1:10 reduction so i am getting abt 360 ppr.