PDA

View Full Version : Power requirements for Motherboard and Processor



exchequer598
10-16-2008, 05:47 PM
For a hobby, we're building a robot with a motherboard+processor combo. I would like to know how much voltage and current these two components would draw? And also, (consequently) please recommend a suitable battery rating.

Please help! Thanks in advance :)

kp_chd
10-16-2008, 11:56 PM
Read this :

http://www.roboticsindia.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3350

This will help you out for sure.


*If you want more help then post the details like the kind of components you are going to use and the kind of work the robot is going to do.

exchequer598
10-17-2008, 09:58 AM
*If you want more help then post the details like the kind of components you are going to use and the kind of work the robot is going to do.

Sorry! We're building a robot that would be completely controlled by the internet. Simply, we're planning to put a processor (Intel P4) and a suitable motherboard on board the robot, using a pen drive for the hard disk. Now we'll plug in a Wireless USB modem into the one of the USB ports of the motherboard so that the computer becomes internet-enabled now. Next, we'll be running an application written in VB6 that would control the motors in my robot (2 DC motors for the drive and 1 stepper motor for webcam rotation) through the parallel port. A portable client application would also be developed that would connect to the application ON the robot through the internet! With it, I would be able to control the movement of the robot and its camera.

I would like to know how to power the motherboard and processor. How do I find out how much current and voltage is required for this? Also, as I'm skipping the SMPS, what kind of regulation would be needed? And how do I do it? Please help

allbits
10-17-2008, 01:51 PM
Use a TCP/IP card along with your controller board. The controller may be any 8 bit controller, if you dont do much - (like image processing).

You dont have to add a motherboard just because you want the bot to be internet enabled.

You have numerous options, just search for embedded ethernet boards.

have not worked with rabbit, but this one looks interesting..

http://www.rabbit.com/products/BL2600/index.shtml (if you have some real processing)

yummy:

http://www.gumstix.com/store/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=207

if you are a microchip guy,
http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en027750
(you might need an explorer 16 board)

but all these ARE less costly and less power consuming than a normal motherboard.

or, search for ATOM boards from Intel.

exchequer598
10-17-2008, 02:06 PM
Thanks! But I would not like to have a WiFi server lying around. I'm looking for plugging in the WiMAX modems that are now commercially available (like the Reliance and TATA Indicom ones). Would your suggestions support that!?

Thanks a lot man. Please help me with this

devpriya
10-17-2008, 02:41 PM
Easiest way to escape computations..... Anyways space doesn't look a concern for you as you are going to put a full fledged motherboard on your robot.

So in that case buy a 200W SMPS and put a fully charged UPS on board. 1KVA UPS would be able to run this system for half and hour atleast! If you want more, put extra batteries in parallel :-)

This is the easiest solution I can think of

exchequer598
10-17-2008, 06:31 PM
Anyways space doesn't look a concern for you as you are going to put a full fledged motherboard on your robot.

Space - not a concern. But the weight!! An UPS is gonna weigh a LOT! How much current and voltage would my two main components (motherboard & processor) need?

pratikmahale
10-17-2008, 10:24 PM
Just a suggestion

Use a laptop

exchequer598
10-18-2008, 09:32 AM
Just a suggestion
Use a laptop

Thats gonna cost me a bomb! :D

abhijit8
10-18-2008, 11:26 AM
You may borrow a laptop from your friend or from your college.
If you cannot arrange a laptop, you can try to arrange for 2nd hand motherboards. To power them you may can use DC-DC converters.

You may find readymade DC-DC converters, mini-ITX boards at http://www.iride.in/

exchequer598
10-18-2008, 01:31 PM
Dude thats sweet! Exactly what I'm lookin for. Fact is, I already have an old motherboard (can tell you the exact model number if you want to) and an Intel P4 processor. All I need is to figure out is how to power it!

I checked out the products in the iRide website. They're very expensive. From their product details, I figure all I need now is a DC-DC converter! Where do I find one that suits exactly my purposes? (Also, I still haven't gotten any help on my original question: i.e. how do I find how much voltage and current my mobo+processor would need!?)

ashish_agarwal123456
10-18-2008, 04:31 PM
why dont you use any battery you have, and find out how long it last. that will give you exact idea.

pratikmahale
10-19-2008, 12:25 AM
I have one more suggestion

Use a 300W car inverter kit it will cast around 1,500/- & it weight around 1 kg only
Instead of P4 motherboard use P3 motherboard with 250 W Power supply & 12 V 7 AH battery which is normally used in most 500 VA UPS & gives 20 Min backup time

exchequer598
10-19-2008, 08:45 AM
Thank you guys! Now I won't be needing to run a monitor/speaker or even a keyboard and a mouse. Only the mobo and processor need to be powered (with one USB device connected - a pen drive). Would I STILL need a car battery!?

nchandra
10-19-2008, 11:50 PM
a regular SMPS can be possibly hacked for this purpose, here is a article suggesting it
http://www.dasilvas.info/ATX%20Power%20supply.htm

pratikmahale
10-20-2008, 12:17 AM
As I already told use 12 V 7 AH battery with car inverter kit then also u ask
“Would I STILL need a car battery!?”

exchequer598
10-20-2008, 03:19 AM
a regular SMPS can be possibly hacked for this purpose, here is a article suggesting it
http://www.dasilvas.info/ATX%20Power%20supply.htm

Thanks a lot! I'll look into it! :) :)

allbits
10-20-2008, 04:51 PM
Its an overkill to use any battery >2AH to run a processor board.

Intel has lots of small boards with very small form factors, you can simply choose one wihin your budjet. In fact, it is possible to integrate the entire bot into the palm, and run it at 12V @<2A!!

exchequer598
10-21-2008, 07:14 AM
Its an overkill to use any battery >2AH to run a processor board.

Intel has lots of small boards with very small form factors, you can simply choose one wihin your budjet. In fact, it is possible to integrate the entire bot into the palm, and run it at 12V @<2A!!

Wow! All I would need is a motherboard with an USB port. Could you point me to one of the motherboards that you are talking about?

allbits
10-21-2008, 01:59 PM
mini itx.

exchequer598
10-21-2008, 08:31 PM
mini itx.

Wow this is exciting! I did some lookups on Mini-ITX boards and came upon these boards:

Intel D945GCLF 1.6GHz Atom Mini-ITX Board (http://www.mini-itx.com/store/?c=47#d945gclf).
EPIA LN 10000G Fanless C7 Mini-ITX Board (http://www.mini-itx.com/store/?c=2#epialn)
VIA EPIA EK 8000EG Fanless Dual LAN Motherboard (http://www.mini-itx.com/store/?c=2#p1647)

Please suggest one!