PDA

View Full Version : I'm a beginner, need help to control stepper

venkboy
09-01-2009, 11:59 AM
Hello,
I am new to this hobby, but I have working knowledge of c/c++, assembly etc.
I have an Atmel 89S52 microcontroller and a stepper motor (unipolar I think). I have downloaded some basic programs and tested them (I have a board which has everything connected like, led's buttons LCD etc. and a bus which is directly connected to the chip).
I tried connecting the motor directly but it did not work, which I think is due to the fact that the voltage is low. My stepper can run on 5V. I don't have a driver IC, or the one that converts a TTL 1 to 5V (I browsed the net first).

Can you please help me?
Thanks in advance

virgo
09-02-2009, 09:38 AM
Try driving motor through ULN2003 or ULN2803.

venkboy
09-05-2009, 04:32 PM
Thanks for replying :D

I did not get the IC so I tried getting the TIP120/121/122 transistors. I din't get that either. :cry:

So I am trying to make an equivalent circuit 8O (given in its datasheet at:
http://docs.google.com/gview?a=v&q=cache:m2_4gYMmimgJ:www.learn-c.com/tip120.pdf+TIP120+equivalent+circuit&hl=en&gl=in

I am making that now (ie. before I decided to check for any replies). :wink:

pkshima
09-05-2009, 06:34 PM
I have a feeling you will end up wasting time. better buy the IC online !!!

Save your time and energy for rest of the project.

venkboy
09-05-2009, 06:41 PM
I live in Delhi, where/how do I buy online? I read about Innovation Roboshop (I live very near to the address they specified, but no one picks up the phone, can you give any suggestions.

PS: I guess you are, right, the circuit isn't working (I used a breadboard, so it can be modified quickly)

Thanks

venkboy
09-05-2009, 06:57 PM
As a second thought, can I use relays, and if yes, how do I get them?

Thanks

pkshima
09-05-2009, 11:24 PM
If you are in delhi then its very hard NOT to get ULN2003 :-)

You will SURELY find it in shop number 614 or 629 at LRM (Lajpat Rai Market).