PDA

View Full Version : Line follower robot

dushyant88
01-07-2010, 04:37 AM
Hi

I am new to the world of robotics and i plan to make a line follower robot for a tech fest in my college.
I have two basic designs:
-two driving motors(left and right), have a line of sensor and using a microcontroller determine the speed of each motor to go left right or straight
-have a driving motor and direction control using a servo controlled by a microcontroller

for the above design i would need the following stuff
1. circuit boards
2. IR detectors
3. DC geared motors or stepper motor
4. Servo
5. Microcontroller
7. ADC
6. electronic components(Resistors, capacitors, etc.)

Now i have the following queries

1. Which design will be the best? by best i mean easier to design and can manouver the track well
2. Which microcontroller will be best suited for my needs?
3. Where to get the components from? (I prefer a local shop in delhi, online will be cool if the delivery is within 5 days)

Thanks
Dushyant

akb1980
01-07-2010, 09:33 AM
Try RoboKits (www.robokits.co.in) - its based in Ahmedabad and they can courier everything to you - Also you can pay by card or online bank transfer. There are many line follower designs available on the net - just take the one whichever you find most comfortable working with!

pratheek
01-09-2010, 07:02 PM
If you are building a line following robot for the first time(like I think you are) then I would suggest you to build a simple microcontrollerless line following robot. You will just need a few electronic components and it will be easier to build and understand. Search the forum or google for more information.

allbits
01-10-2010, 02:43 AM
Just make a simple light controlled switch. make one which Works good.

Really.
Nothing can be a better start.

robosoftsystems
01-14-2011, 01:36 PM
As suggested by allbits in one of his post reply's,