View Full Version : complete newbie

vishalkureel
01-25-2010, 12:16 AM
:),,hi i m just new to robotics,,
n i want to live it through the basics,,:cool:
can u tell me where to start from,,like books,softwares extra,,,:o

Mayukh
01-25-2010, 05:20 PM
I started by building the $50 robot (www.societyofrobots.co) with moderate success. Its a great design and formed the platform for later robotics projects which met all the objectives I desired. I dont own any books as yet. The internet is a great resource with a lot of information on Atmel atmega range of microcontrollers. But you do need to know C to start programming.

Just go ahead and build the $50 robot and you'll keep learning along the way.

Regards,
Mayukh.

pratheek
01-26-2010, 09:29 AM
I would suggest you to start with building from a robot kit and learn the basics. Later you can go on building your own robots.
You will find good resources in RI. Try google also.

vishalkureel
01-27-2010, 06:06 PM
will joining a work shop.:eek:.like organised by nsit/dce/ipu coleege will help..???:confused:

akshay66
01-27-2010, 06:37 PM
Don't just straight away jump into robotics...its a mixture of electronics,mechanics,programming & others.You must have a experience of electronics & programming before coming to robotics.A fair idea of mechanics will do.

Mayukh
01-27-2010, 08:44 PM
Don't just straight away jump into robotics....

I partially disagree with you Akshay. Real robotics is indeed a super specialization after a basic engineering degree, preferably mechanical? But what sort of robot would an average hobbist like to build? Definately not a lunar probe. In my opinion, the only requirement is to know C and some basic knowledge of general science to get a pretty neat hobby robot going. There is only one way to build your first robot - just start building it!! All the knowledge shall come in due course. Attending a workshop maybe good, but not an absolute necessity.