PDA

View Full Version : wireless a/c device switch



geek
02-17-2010, 12:45 AM
Is it possible to switch off devices that operate on a/c power wirelessly?? Like switch on light, fan etc !!

rao
02-17-2010, 02:06 AM
Connect your receiver to a relay which in turn controls the supply to the device... quite easy.

geek
02-17-2010, 03:47 PM
@rao

Well, With dc devices one can use a transistor with a IR/RF sensor
But what components work with ac??
Like with so much current and voltage and the fact that it is ac, most semiconductor devices wont work

rao
02-17-2010, 04:48 PM
Hi

Thats why I am asking you to use a relay. A relay will act as a switch. Your semiconductor devices will generate 5V activation or deactivation signal for the relay... I have controlled fans, lights, doors etc using my TV remote with a reciever attached to my computer and relays attached to my parallel port (ahh the good old days with 5V generating parallel ports and the ever so beautiful inport and outport).
All you have to understand is that even though regulation through a remote will be slightly tougher, turning something on and off just requires a switch and a control signal.

geek
02-17-2010, 09:39 PM
@rao
thanks for the reply
Ok, so what will this relay be like?? transistor?? or what??

rao
02-17-2010, 09:55 PM
A relay is an electro-magnetic switch, when the control signal is provided, the coil gets activated and the metal completes the contact, allowing the power to flow through.

Google for a solid state Single Pole Single Throw (SPST) relay. What you want is a 220-240 V ac relay with a control voltage of 5VDC.

I dont know where you live, because in delhi you can go to lajpat rai and ask the store keeper and they would know.

geek
02-18-2010, 12:07 AM
Thanks
Actually I live in NCR so Delhi is quite approachable
Any idea of the cost???

rao
02-18-2010, 10:33 AM
Shouldnt cost you more than 100rs. Just go and shop around.

geek
02-26-2010, 12:28 AM
http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=14&products_id=205
http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/117655/ETC/RW-SH-106D.html

Do I need something like this??

vikas
02-26-2010, 01:16 AM
Or just buy a remote switch , most decent elctrical shops have it ... It has a wireless remote with decent range ...