PDA

View Full Version : ADC or Controller Switch Over

maxasimo
02-27-2005, 08:19 PM
Hi All

Im a newbie on this forum...Im a student at Delhi College of Engineering, 2nd year, ECE...Im a robotics enthusiast n hobbiest...I've taken up a small workshop on microcontrollers and have made a start...a line follower robot...obviously with the help of this site, of course...now i want to make my next project involving ADC's...but i have some quiries...
(1) Are ADC's costly here in India...
(2) Im currently working with AT89C51/51 uC's. I know that the PIC controllers have some analog ports whic greatly simplify the interfacing using them. However um confused whether to switch over at an early stage...Im a newbie, just an experience of 3 months...

Please help me all...Thanks n hoping for a nice journey ahead with you all...

Sunny

ice
02-28-2005, 10:24 AM
A simple parallel ADC is the ADC0808 [8 bit]...
Its within 100Rs..
However working with an onboard ADC on a uc makes wiring and programming easier...

an external parallel ADC-needs 8 data lines,3 control lines
an external seral ADC-needs only 3 lines.DATA,CLOCK and chipselect
an onboard ADC-needs only an analog in

Try using a parallel ADC first,ul get the hang of terms ,like Vref and stuff..u can even wire the ADC without a Uc

Serial ADCs need programming,but only 3-4 lines of assembly

Onboard ADCs just need to be initiallised an read from
an eg in pic basic pro
ADCIN 0,adcval
[which means select analog channel 0 of the UC,and put the valuein adcval variable]

-gerry

vikas
02-28-2005, 04:33 PM
Yep

I dont recommend a seprate ADC ( unless u require very high resolution ) Insted go for the ones built inside the uC's they are quite good 8 pins of 10 bit resolution in Atmel mega 8 ( mega 8 costs 200 bucks ) .

Simple to use and program will make life much easier

vidur
02-28-2005, 06:19 PM
Hi