PDA

View Full Version : Square wave generation from USB control

anilmaddala
03-26-2010, 05:37 PM
Hell everyone,

I dont know much about controlling things directly from USB port (without using usb to serial converters).

I want to control the pwm and frequancy (if possible) of a square wave from a program running on my pc (real time). How can this be done?

Thank you.

vikas
03-26-2010, 06:30 PM
Use USB to serial to control a microcontroller.

or use Arduino/Riduino :) ... Itll just be 4 - 5 lines of coding for what you want :) .

anilmaddala
03-26-2010, 06:56 PM
Hi Vikas,

I did do a bit google search, and found many different Arduino boards and their clones. I am new to arduino, so could you please suggest me a board which is available in India (preferably in Chennai), good performance and not too costly. Thanks for your reply.

vikas
03-26-2010, 07:12 PM
Why not buy one designed by me :)

http://www.roboticsindia.com/store/index.php?route=product/product&path=46&product_id=72

Will be available from 1st of April.

anilmaddala
03-26-2010, 07:22 PM
That just look s great... so do you have a specification sheet, with all the pin details and all? I would love to get one for that price.

Ulhas
03-29-2010, 04:31 PM
You can use PIC18F4450/2550 instead which has built in USB pheripheral,
Use EasyHID,MikroC and do it.

However as USB has only D-,D+ two pins which is also used for speed detection and interfacing you can't use them directly for your requirement
Better use uC in between

pratheek
03-29-2010, 08:16 PM
The cheapest and easiest way to do it is to use a USB to serial and use a microcontroller connected to the converter's serial side to generate the required PWM and the frequency.
Going for this method has another advantage - your computer detects a USB to serial converter as a serial port on your computer and hence it is easier to write the host software, which will run on your computer.