PDA

View Full Version : total novice DSP and ARM

mandrake
05-06-2010, 01:07 AM
Hi
For my final year project, i decided using Hawkboard. The logic goes : it has both an ARM and a DSP core, so its better (i get a general purpose processor too :D).
Then i heard about TI's DaVinci platform and the Leopardboard, and its video processing capabilities.
Then i heard about the hardships and overheads of using the dsp core in hawkboard as it boots from arm.
So now i am confused to death, as i have never done any dsp or arm programming. Help me plz. ( i don't exactly know what i am looking for :D )

vikas
05-06-2010, 07:55 AM
Go for Beagle Board , Hawk Board is a waste of time as no support or community exists for it compared to Beagle.

If you want to Work on ARM9 and want DSP also .. Beagle board is your best friend ... Period. I work everyday on Arm platform so i know what im saying.

rao
05-06-2010, 11:09 AM
Just remember, dont bite on more than you can chew.

I would agree with Vikas, Even though Beagle Board is comparatively costlier, but the amount of support and the number of projects
documented online will make your life a lot more easier.

Also , because this is your final year project, you will be stuck within deadlines and working with something that has virtually no online
support (Hawkboard) means that you will have to discover everything yourself.

Just think very carefully on what you want, paying a few extra bucks can save you a lot of time.

mandrake
05-06-2010, 03:52 PM
what about Leopardboard?
Also how can i program for arm and dsp simultaneously, as in 8086-8087 style. I have read you can use only one core at a time, through dsplink.
Everything else went right over me. :o

shashak
05-06-2010, 07:07 PM
Hawk Board is a waste of time as no support
dont be too harsh :) ,
anyways i bought hawkboard and had thought i would be able to take up things quickly but time and inexperience wih linux is taking things down. Anyways i thinking of beagle now... :).