PDA

View Full Version : Fuse setting



nassima
06-09-2010, 02:22 AM
How can I set the fuse setting for PIC 16F877 ?

avinash_g
06-09-2010, 06:17 AM
Admins please delete this kind of posts. This is no way to ask technical questions!

avinash_g
06-09-2010, 06:31 AM
Connect the XYZ PIC programmer to Firewire Port of your home supper computer. The in the UNIX command prompt first edit the config file to allow access to the firewire port.

The then launch the PIC programmer by typing XPIC in command prompt. If you have libFirewire alread installed then the Programmer GUI will come up.

From their go to the third tab it says Config/Chip settings. Their you can enter the 14 bit wide CONFIG value.
Enter 1e3 in its value.(assuming that you need to set RC oscillator and brown out enabled etc etc)

Then from Write menu select Configuration Memory Thats it. You just programmed the PIC16F877's Config Mem.

But never try this on PIC16F877A chips these are much different
see the image below

allbits
06-09-2010, 09:14 AM
You can set it in code itself.

In MPLAB, go to COnfigure>configuration bits. Uncheck 'configuration bits set in code' Then set the bits there.
Alternatively, you can set it in code. Check the 'configuration bits set in code'

It will be something like this..
__CONFIG _CP_OFF & _WDT_OFF & _BODEN_OFF & _PWRTE_OFF & _HS_OSC ..... like that.. for 877 and 877 A, there will be more parameters, and ON and OFF the bits as you want it.

In micro C, there is an option when you start a new project.

If bits are set in code, you may not set it in programmer. If you have not, you will have to set it while you program. For that, refer to the progarmmer manual. Or mention which programmer you are using.