PDA

View Full Version : Which oscilloscope model to buy?



03-16-2005, 03:20 PM
Hi,
I'm looking for an oscilloscope. Ideally 30MHz, but I'm a newbie so I don't really know. Can anyone recommend a model of the scope to purchase?
Thanks,
/pv

vidur
03-16-2005, 08:40 PM
Something like that will cost Rs 15,000.. had checked the price At Nehru Place

Try Scientific Instruments, Hameg Electronics, Hewlett Packard etc..don't really know the models....ask them for a catalog

If you're on a budget...find a second hand single channel CRO one from some engg. institutes


Vidur

Vivek
03-16-2005, 09:06 PM
I would suggest to go for Scientific instruments if you dont have the budget for HP.

there were some models by scientific which have a option of attached "variable regulated power-supply" or "function generation". i dont know if they still have such models.

cheers!

vidur
03-16-2005, 09:45 PM
yep...some models have function generators + frequency counters as an add-on

03-16-2005, 11:11 PM
Thanks, these are really good tips. I will be going to Nehru Place this Saturday and try to buy an oscilloscope and breadboard.

Does anyone know about Aplab as a brand for an oscilloscope? Since oscilloscopes are so expensive, I'd much rather buy it just once.


Any ideas about how to get in touch with Engg institutions to buy their old oscilloscopes?

Prashant

vidur
03-17-2005, 09:50 AM
write to them ...i guess! :)

Vivek
03-17-2005, 10:54 PM
Aplad does make oscilloscopes but i think its mor popular brnad for its power supplies.

i have juts heard they make osciolscopes. never used them never seen them.

cheers!

me_roboto
12-03-2007, 01:13 PM
I want to buy an oscilloscope. The issue is I am a computer science graduate and has never used it before. But I researched them well over the internet. I need it to make some power electronics(Brushless motor drivers) and thinks :roll: the following oscilloscope suffices my usage. I came across the MODEL 36025D aplab oscilloscope on the http://www.aplab.com/tmi/tm07.htm. I enquired them and they said it costs 27,900 INR which I feel is way high a price for the specs. I have no way of verifying whether it's a nice buy at this price or not. My budget is around 20k. I can push it to 25K, even 30K if the equipment has some REALLY needful functions. Can you folks suggest me some oscilloscopes and their approx prices so I can make the selection?

Sorry for waking up an old thread but it seems like the right place.

Thanks

docel
12-03-2007, 09:21 PM
Forget Aplab!

The best: http://www.tek.com/products/oscilloscopes/selection_chart.html
http://www.picotech.com/entrylevel-oscilloscopes.html
http://www.scientificindia.com/products/product.asp?prod_id=21
http://www.scientificindia.com/products/product.asp?prod_id=22

me_roboto
12-04-2007, 03:25 PM
Thanks a lot Docel.

Well tek scopes are out of budget :( . Pico scope has to be imported.

The Scientific India scopes looks ideal solution to me :D . The specs are good and they are Power Scopes. I called them up today to enquire the pricing. The representative said the price for SM 901 model is 24,500 INR and the price for SM 902 is 37,500 INR. Do you think these prices are reasonable?

I am interested in buying the SM 901 model as I think it is sufficient for developing Brushless drivers. Do I really need the computer link that comes with SM 902 model and do I need anything else apart from what these scopes have to offer? Please advise.

vikas
12-04-2007, 08:02 PM
Like docel said get a picoscope ... they give good price performance and are way advanced compared to whats available at same price in india.

As for importing , they are small so shipping will be less .... and mark them as samples to avoid customs [:)] .

docel
12-04-2007, 08:36 PM
Pico..Agilent...
Available in India--- thats why I posted the links -
http://www.picotech.com/distribl/india.html

http://www.metravi.com/product1.html#Oscilloscopes

me_roboto
12-05-2007, 02:42 PM
You guys are correct. Pico Scopes offer very good price-performance ratio. I think PicoScope 3204 model is fine for me. As far as our Indian suppliers are concerned, rsindia offers the scope for 54K and Metravi could not be contacted on phone. :roll:

PicoScope 3204 is available at 2 locations listed below:

1. http://www.picotech.com/generalpurpose-oscilloscopes.html for $824.
2. http://www.pc-oscilloscopes.com/pc_oscilloscopes.html for $778.

Should I buy the cheap one or the one the manufacturer sells? Better support or something from manufacturer?

The PicoScope 3224 at http://www.pc-oscilloscopes.com/usb_3224.html offers 12 bit resolution but I think I don't need it for my power electronics thing. Please advice.

I want the matching scope probes as well. Some are available at http://www.pc-oscilloscopes.com/index.php/cPath/40_45 . Which one should I buy?

Are there any other accessories I need to buy to go along with the scope?
Any other issues to consider?

Too many questions. Ignorance sucks. :P

AVR
12-05-2007, 03:53 PM
Please do let us know your final choice and where you purchased from as I am also looking for an oscilloscope in New Delhi. I have to choose between either getting a new one or shipping one of the units that I have with me (HP1744A). I am not sure about the hassle to get the thing custom cleared in India.
India is still expensive for electronic hobby. I got my whole Test bench setup (overseas) for less than 1000 USD which includes weller soldering station WSD80,hakko desoldering station 470, Fluke 45 dual display multimeter,HP 34401A MMeter, Philips RCL meter 6303, Fluke 187 True RMS MM, Function generator, Triple output power supply lodestar 8202, leader 20 Mhz oscilloscope and HP1744A 100Mhz Oscilloscope.

You may also look at the following link
http://www.tek.com/products/oscilloscopes/tds1000_tds2000/index.html
Tektronix is quite reliable and will withstand rough handling.

Thanks and best of luck.

me_roboto
12-07-2007, 06:13 PM
With all said and done I think I am going with the Tektronix one. Just too many recommendations. As soon as I get one on my Bench I will post it here and if I find it lacking on one thing or another I will be chasing you guys with stick in both hands. :D

An Import License in the name of some company really helps in getting things custom cleared. But if you are just a hobbyist then avoid them as much as possible. Ideally one gets to pay about 30% of the price of the product. But it depends on the mood of the Babus in the Customs. I have paid more than 100% duty on certain transactions(for speeding things up). I have paid duty on items on which there is no Import duty. I have wasted days visting their offices for petty transactions. I have endured their nonsense talk. List goes on...

A little off-topic but cannot hold myself back. :)

me_roboto
12-22-2007, 07:40 PM
AVR

I have purchased the TDS 1002B 60Mhz Tektronix oscillscope from agmatel India at the cost of 51K(49K+Taxes). It works great. I am having some grounding issues with the scope at home, but that's another thread. I feel, I paid too much for it. In my opinion, one can negotiate the price down to 44k with ease. This became apparent after I made the purchase :x . If you want detailed negotiating tips about purchasing from agmatel send me a pm. I would recommend that you get your stuff from abroad. Would be cheaper.

Cheers

docel
12-23-2007, 05:56 PM
Sorry...and agree with you. Should have cautioned you..... :cry:

But one problem with the import: Servicing!
And all the stuff you import will automatically be sourced through the local dealers/reps anyway. And you may get the stuff minus the sops if you bargain without an idea of what you should actually get as a package.

debu
12-24-2007, 01:48 PM
@me_roboto: You shouldn't complain about the price. I purchased a 40MHz TDS1001B for that price 2 years ago. :lol:

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8674/photo122407001pk9.th.jpg (clickie) (http://img295.imageshack.us/my.php?image=photo122407001pk9.jpg)

I have never had a problem with the oscilloscope in the whole time, and I feel assured by the lifetime warranty. So price is not really any issue.

I dont know about yours, but my TDS1001B came with NI LabView SignalExpress, this actually increases the utility quite a bit. I normally use it to capture test results on my laptop, and perform real time data analysis. Damn useful.


Regards,

Debu

me_roboto
12-29-2007, 07:34 PM
I would recommend that you get your stuff from abroad. Would be cheaper.

This was meant for AVR as he has a complete workbench overseas. I should have made it clear.


But one problem with the import: Servicing!
And all the stuff you import will automatically be sourced through the local dealers/reps anyway. And you may get the stuff minus the sops if you bargain without an idea of what you should actually get as a package.

Total agreement.


@me_roboto: You shouldn't complain about the price. I purchased a 40MHz TDS1001B for that price 2 years ago. Laughing
I am not complaining about the price but I was ripped of 5k just because I didnot knew the right words to say. Now that sucks.


I dont know about yours, but my TDS1001B came with NI LabView SignalExpress, this actually increases the utility quite a bit. I normally use it to capture test results on my laptop, and perform real time data analysis. Damn useful.

I do have the trial version of NI LabView SignalExpress software CD that came with the oscilloscope. I guess, I'll be reinstalling windows every 30 days. :)

asimov_18
12-31-2007, 11:32 PM
HI just keep trying I was able to buy a tek td-1002 scope for 500$ secondhand ofcorse on ebay. but i think its was agreat deal as its a portable scope with lcd readout and 60Mhz range
asimov