PDA

View Full Version : i want to begin [Quadrotor]

anaparti
06-27-2010, 10:37 AM
i have basic knowledge of c++ and other higher level languages. and i had done some assembly language project during my college days - a decade ago. so u people know where i stand. i have shifted to delhi and want to make a four rotor helicopter. i did some google and know the basic sturcture and stuff. i want guidance on where i will get the correct stuff - the servos , PCBs, ICs etc . it must be lajpat rai market but i don't want to get into the wrong shop at this beginner stage. i also found a site where they taught a simple robot using PICAXE pcb but could not find it on the online stores of india.

i found some pcbs on indian online shops but don't know how to use them - the programming and pin nos etc.

i want to start with simple robot - a walking and talking one . then finally my helicopter with gps and six cameras with wireless with a range of 1 km at least. so if somebody understood my situation - just guide me a little. i don't want pre-assembled kits - i want to do the soldering myself - i hope somebody can help me here.

Thanks in advance.!!

pratheek
06-27-2010, 10:55 AM
I do not know of any place in India where you can buy a PICAXE at a resonable price. Arduinos and its clones are easily available at cheap rates. So I would suggest you go for Arduino.

Most (not all) development boards you buy from online stores come with instructions on how to use them. So it should not be a problem for you to use them, even if you do not have any prior experience in programming microcontrollers.

There a few good beginner tutorials on RI which should help you with your first robot.

anaparti
06-27-2010, 11:00 AM
thanks pratheek. while u replied i went around this site. i will see the tutorials also. thanks for the tip on PICAXE - or else i would wasted lot of time trying to find it.

allbits
06-27-2010, 11:30 AM
i want to start with simple robot - a walking and talking one .