PDA

View Full Version : Absolute beginner (autonomous bots)

lastRites
08-09-2010, 07:57 PM
I want to make fast Line following bot. :) But I know nothing about microcontrollers or development boards :p. I know programming in java and c++ and have some experience in making manual battle bots but I am keen on starting with autonomous robotics. I have looked around this site but I still do not have a clear idea about the basics. Can you guys please list the components that I will need and if possible a rough guide about how I should get about building the bot.:D Thanks:)

Edit:
Things that I already have:
4 R.C. cars
1 IR controlled Helicopter
6 12v dc 200 rpm motor
4 12v dc 100 rpm motor
2 battle bot chassis
1 car wiper motor

pratheek
08-09-2010, 08:22 PM
First, decide on the mechanical design of your robot.

Then decide on the sensors you will be using to sense the line - LDRs, IR sensors, etc. LDRs are slow so you will have to go with IR sensors.

200 rpm DC motors will be more than enough for a decently fast line follower, when used with wheels of 6 - 8 cm diameter.

For the power supply, you can choose between Ni-Mh, Li-ion and Li-Poly batteries. Li-ion is light and powerful but expensive. Ni-Mh is cheap and easily available.

Algorithm is what you will have to spend more time on. You can use the standard left-right algorithm. You will get the best results with a PID control though.

I have just given the options available to you in brief. For a more detailed explanation, google search or post here.

akshay66
08-09-2010, 09:33 PM
Hi all,
I really like the way you had put your problem.Although, pratheek has given you a rough idea.

For motors first use 100rpm and then when you perfect your code go for 200rpm as you have both the options.