PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginner; Need help to start/find resources and knowledge.

manu25
09-14-2010, 10:37 PM
Hi All, I am an absolute beginner in robot building and dont have any background related to it. I have a desire to start this as a hobby and have time to pursue it for the rest of my active life. So, I am seeking your help to solve my queries which i listed below:

Things I have :

A separate room which i am planning to convert as my workspace.
An unlimited internet access with a personal Laptop.
couple of hours to spend after my work on weekdays and maybe more over weekends.
Sufficient budget to collect all which is needed to get started and sustain in robotics.

Things I am looking for:

Steps or detailed article covering workplace setup (supported with pictures would be great).
List of elementry or advanced tools needed in robot building (also with vendors in india or the trusted websites delivering stuf in India).
Names/Links of Good books or study material to follow (for beginners and intermediate).
Magazines on robotics which we can subscribe in India.
A brief overview to kickstart and advices to save time.
If helpful/required, any robot Kits which could be ordered from the internet.

By profession I am a software engineer and have 7yrs of industry experience. I found some good and crisp answers while surfing through these forums which made me feel to join this community. Thanks to the moderators for giving me this opportunity.

Thanks in anticipation ....

ppppking04
09-17-2010, 08:30 AM
Congratulations on coming over to this side! I'm sure you'll like it here :)