PDA

View Full Version : SMPS Help!!



dhruvkaran
06-04-2005, 11:46 PM
hi ppl,
we bought a smps today as we thought the current thro the adapter wasn't enough
now obviously, the smps is second hand
and there are a hell lot of wires in here
can any one tell me which one to use
awaiting help
dhruv

yogi
06-05-2005, 03:12 AM
above the smps there is some specification written over it

like red=5V
black=0V
there is also 12v -12V and -5V . This color specification will be written over smps


For making it working there will be four leads
and you have shor ckt two leads and that will also be written over smps

subot_robot
06-07-2005, 02:56 PM
Hi,
Just get the multimeter and measure the voltage across the various wires. May be this will help u.

subot_robot

sumandeep1984
06-09-2005, 12:15 PM
SMPS has various voltages .... +12, +5, +3.3, -5, -12 ... gnd etc to name a few ... but most of them are in the big connector going into the motherboard .... our concern is the 4 pin connectors going into disk drives etc ....

Its like this i suppose [red] [black] [black] [yellow]

Black is ground and the other two are +12 & +5 ... just check the values with a multimeter.

cheers!

nchinoy
06-14-2005, 10:47 AM
It would be easier to check all black wires to see which one is GROUND. With reference to this ground check all the outer connections...