PDA

View Full Version : image processing basics!!!!!

dhruvkaran
06-07-2005, 05:49 PM
hi ppl,
i am a total newbie to robotics
i need help with processing pixels from a webcam, and using c or assembly(for uC) for processing and decision making
please help me regarding this
i think i can do the control part once someone teaches me the image processing and analysis part
also some concrete examples instead of abstract theory would be useful
thnx for ur time
dhruv

sumandeep1984
06-09-2005, 12:19 PM
Check out "Digital Image Processing by Gonzalez and Woods" ... it's good ... also try download Open CV by Intel it's free...

3d
06-15-2005, 03:10 AM
i am in 2nd year ee delhi college of engg. and have been a keen robotics person.......i got hold of a copy of gonzalez and woods from the lib.... but this book deals basically with image processing .....i am currently looking to design an object recognition system using for my hexapod...........will a book on machine vision help me better.....is it required to go through dip before laying hands on machine vision.......

06-15-2005, 05:33 AM
will a book on machine vision help me better.....is it required to go through dip before laying hands on machine vision.......

Hey,

I'm a Ph. D. student in computer engineering at the University of Florida. I work on automated target recognition systems for the military. You will definately want a machine vision book, but to understand it you will need a good background in image processing and I think Gonzalez and Woods is the DIP book of choice.

Good luck,

John

06-15-2005, 05:36 AM
i think i can do the control part once someone teaches me the image processing and analysis part also some concrete examples instead of abstract theory would be useful
thnx for ur time dhruv

Hiya,