PDA

View Full Version : steering quesion

jmc
06-13-2005, 11:04 AM
Hi all,

I am a computer engineer (AI\Neural Networks\etc) and I am just getting interested in hobby robotics. I have a basic stamp and I've goofed around with it a bit, but I would like to make my first robot now. My question is this:

I would like the robot to have wheels and to steer just like a car. I believe that I require rack and pinion steering, but I'm ignorant when it comes to mecanincs.

It doesn't seem like there are any robotics kits out there that have such complicated steering systems. I would really like something 4 wheel drive. Can you suggest a resource such as a tutorial on what parts to buy and how to assemble them? I'm really looking to learn here, so I don't want a kit that has most of the parts assembled already. I want to do the work myself.

Thanks!

shridhar
06-14-2005, 08:42 PM
hi as u r a computer engineering student, i would advise not to go deep into mechanical, fabrication..

I am mechanical engineering and i know how time consuming and difficult job it is to make all the things by hand and not using kits...

You should buy some ready robot or some toy car and focus more on programming it....U can do so much in your own field which is also related to robotics like image recognition, autonomous control, control over internet/LAN etc...

06-14-2005, 09:44 PM
hi as u r a computer engineering student, i would advise not to go deep into mechanical, fabrication..

Hi, and thank you for the response. I agree; I certainly don't want to start fabricating my own parts!! I am nowhere near that level ;)

Still, I can't find a kit with rack and pinion steering except the leggo mindstorm. I'm looking for a kit where I assemble everything from pre-fabricated parts or some instructions on how to build my own system from parts I can buy online.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

sumandeep1984
06-16-2005, 05:38 PM