PDA

View Full Version : how much current will 12 servos require?



3d
06-25-2005, 06:27 PM
err.... this question may sound a bit foolish but its imp to us.......since its not written in the specs of the futaba s148 servo... can anyone give me an idea of the amt of current each of these will consume at about full load?
and wat chip should i use to give the required current to the servos??

are any 6v regulators available capable of giving a 10 amps current rating?? plz help.

ice
06-26-2005, 09:54 PM
Specs at tower hobbies http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXH318&P=ML

its 8mA at idle
say 15 to 30 mA depending on ur load(maybe more)



SPECS: Control system: Pulse width control, 1.52ms neutral
Motor: 3-pole
Power requirement: 4.8 or 6.0 volts (from receiver)
Power consumption: 6.0V 8mA (at idle)
Torque: 41 oz/in @ 4.8V or 57 oz/in @ 6V
(3.2 kg/cm @ 4.8V or 4.1 kg/cm @ 6V
Transit Time: 0.23 seconds/60 degrees @ 4.8V or .19 sec/60deg @ 6V

happy_99
06-27-2005, 12:31 AM
A few more details here

http://www.servocity.com/html/s148_standard_precision.html

I use Hitech HS422, which has got almost similar specs as that of S148.

Check it here

http://www.servocity.com/html/hs-422_super_sport_.html

It draws abt 180mA while running at no load.

Our hexapod, SXR draws abt 5-6A while lifting off the ground and abt 2-3A while walking. It has 18 servos of which 12 are HS422s and 6 are HS700s (High torque 12.5kg-cm@6.0V)

Regds

happy_99

3d
06-28-2005, 01:19 AM
thanks guys..... helped us out a lot........ just one more question....can you tell us wat to use to achieve the rated supply.? any sort of regulating ic that can provide say 10 amps at 6 volts regulated supply....or anything near to it say 7 amps or so at 5 volts.

happy_99
06-29-2005, 01:07 AM
I'm using 6V 4,5Ah SLA for the servos. I too 've a 6V 5A adapter, but unregulated one. Don't know of IC's of 10A rating. Hope someone else 'll give some ideas.

Regds

happy_99

subot_robot
07-01-2005, 09:59 AM
Hi,
May be we can achieve 10A current by connecting 2 or more voltage regulator in parallel. That's what we do in L298 and L293 2 get higher current rating. Let me know whether this works or not.

subot_robot

09-17-2005, 01:06 PM
why do you want that?

Any capacity hobby servos available commercially dont take more than 1 amp

09-17-2005, 01:06 PM
why do you want that?

Any capacity hobby servos available commercially dont take more than 1 amp

09-17-2005, 01:06 PM
why do you want that?

Any capacity hobby servos available commercially dont take more than 1 amp

09-17-2005, 01:07 PM
why do you want that?

Any capacity hobby servos available commercially dont take more than 1 amp

09-17-2005, 01:07 PM
why do you want that?

Any capacity hobby servos available commercially dont take more than 1 amp

09-17-2005, 01:08 PM
why do you want that?

Any capacity hobby servos available commercially dont take more than 1 amp