PDA

View Full Version : which microcontroller to useeeee

pallakiran
08-31-2005, 10:19 AM
hi all.... i am a newbie to robotics and we friends are making a robot(':D')
Very Happy.... i want to know which microcontroller to use(':(')
Sad for purposes like obstacle avoidance, line following, mine detection and also digging the mine using some mechanism( we dint decide it yet('8O')
Shocked).......lot of things na.......so...i want to know which one is best suited for my design........all of u robo studs and etc(':wink:')
Wink...plz help me in choosing one...will be thankfuyl to you guys... one more thing i live in chennai...it shld be available and also cost effective(':P')
Razz....i mean 100/- to max 500/-..........waiting for all ur replys..........byeeeeeeeeeeeee

yogi
08-31-2005, 06:30 PM
The best one for starting is a line follower robot

U can do it without microcontroller

see mine
http://www.geocities.com/njbibin/robotics/linefollower.html

If you want a microcontroller

the cheap one abt Rs.50 (8051) but programmer cost is high, so use AVR microcontroller better one atmega8 and AVRDUDE programmer. Secondly if u want to pgm in C use WinAVR , assembly Avrstudio4.0

Bibin John
www.bibinjohn.tk

robosapien
08-31-2005, 08:10 PM
Hi;

U can choose between pic,atmel 8051,atmel avr series.

Well I think its best for you to start off with atmel 8051
try at89c2051 or at89c51/52
at89c51 is around 75Rs
at89c2051 is around 40Rs
Since you are are a beginner you are bound to fry some chips :D.So keep it cheap at first then move on to pic etc. The programmers can easily be made.

pallakiran
09-02-2005, 12:40 AM
thank u very much guys for ur good reply's .....i think that would be good to begin with.... if i have any problem,i will get in touch with u.....byee

subot_robot
09-02-2005, 10:22 AM
Hi,