PDA

View Full Version : Project and microprocessor help

mukesh2000may
10-18-2005, 10:41 PM
i am new to microprocessors. I have read many of your articles and found them to be useful. I also came to know that Atmel's AVR microcontrollers are easier to learn than PIC and 8051. So regarding Atmel's AVR can u specify me what is STK series of boards specified on the ponyprog website. Is it a programmer or a development board or a combination of both.

Also i and my friend are developing a project on robotics in final year of M.Sc. -(IT). We are developing a path learner robot. we are comfortable with software part but are not well versed with hardware part. we are clear with the basics of electronics but not with microcontrollers.

our basic idea is to develop a circuit which contains two components interconnected with each other. One component contains microcontroller which implements obstacle avoidance. Another component contains another microcontroller.
first of all helpme with controlling one microcontroller and then guide me with interconnecting two microprocessors

i am thinking of using AVR.
8O

vikas
10-19-2005, 12:29 AM
AVR's are easiest .
STK's are expensive ... build own board
Pony prog is a Serial programmer ( ISP )
path learner robot - Google it -- Itll be there

mukesh2000may
10-20-2005, 12:13 AM
Thanks Vikas,

But can u guide us with the development of board, maybe an schematic with PCB diagram will help.

By the way ur project was also great and it will act as an reference for us.

there are many sites which provide free board diagrams. Is developing that boards worthy, or will it help. :roll:

nchinoy
10-20-2005, 11:35 AM