PDA

View Full Version : Basic Questions from a beginner

brazenoutlaw
11-15-2005, 10:25 PM
Hi all,
I am a beginner in microcontroller field. After having gone through the articles posted here I am convinced that AVR is the best to start off with. Nearest metro - Bangalore is quite far from where I live. So I just want make sure that i have all info before i buy

1) Ok this may seem trivial to you, but what exactly is a "Programmer" ?
From the articles that I have read here and elsewhere, the word 'programmer' refers to Software (like Averdude in one of the earlier articles) in some cases and hardware in others. I am really confused about this term :cry:

2) I also saw the AVR site. It had a lot of ,uc listed. Which ,uc should i go for(available in Bangalore) from AVR ? I'm looking one with a lot of features. Any idea of the cost would be helpful.

3) What is the best source of reference for AVR ,uc. I have all the pdf files from its website regarding Instruction set and architecture. Would this be enough. Should I refer to any other book.

Thank You in advance
OUTLAW

rao
11-15-2005, 10:35 PM
Dude,

1. A programmer consists of the hardware through which you interface your uC to the comp and the software using which you stuff your programs into the uC...

2. Go for atmel Mega 8 . It costs around 150/- here in Delhi, moreover it has all the features any beginner can want in a uC... pleace check the datasheet for features

3. The best site for AVR stuff is http://www.avrfreaks.net. It has got everything from programming to beginner projects to good software for assemblers and compilers and simulators for aAVR uCs

hope this helps..

Rao

rohitd
11-16-2005, 11:38 AM
hi ,
i dont know about the AVR ,i also heard they are cool,but i have studied and used 80xx series in my college life and so i am still using the 89c51 since then. ya but as mentioned by rao avr is bit costly 150rs while 89c51 is 45 bucks!! not a problem to burn one or two while experimenting!!