PDA

View Full Version : Region coverage algorithm [URGENT]

ichigohnvn
12-24-2005, 02:18 AM
Hi I'm new to robotics and currently working on a project relating to region coverage mobile robot.

The robot is supposed to cover all points in a specific terrain (unexplored, i.e. the robot must explore the region itself). This kind of robot can be applied for vacuum cleaning robot, and things like that.

Anyone has gone thru this kind of project can give me a hand? I need info. about the algorithm and relevant sensors needed.

Thank you very much.

addy
12-24-2005, 02:29 AM
hi,
be a little more specific about the terrain on which u wanna ur robo to naviate ...... because alot of things will depend on that.
if the terrain is big and unknown... and u don want to collide with obstacles.... u ll have to go for sonars and do grid mapping of the entire enviroment and then proceed in the desired path as per ur algo...
so be more specific about the enviroment,....

ichigohnvn
12-24-2005, 08:36 AM
Hi as you said the terrain is quite large compared to the robot and also an unknown region. The robot must cover all area by ifself.

I think I can use IR sensors instead, cant I? and could you tell my more about grid mappings and more specific algo. or where I can get that.

Thank you for your help :)

addy
12-24-2005, 09:43 AM
hi there,

see ir's never gives satisfactory performance on many instances.....
it largely depends n reflectivity,smoothness, color of the surface of the object infront....
if the object is carbon black,,, u r dead.
but sonars r faithful...
by grid mapping i meant tat u can keep on scanning the entire surrounding around u, and then map the entire enviroment{in which area there r obstacles and where there's a free area to move} and then decide ur course of action.
but simple navigation is not gr8 idea....
think of some idea or some job which ur robo must perform in this course...