PDA

View Full Version : plz help me choose a uC..i mean really, plz

prg2006
01-15-2006, 01:01 AM
Hi everybody
I'm from Nepal, studying in Grade-XII (going for Elx_&_Comm_Eng_ soon)
I'm verymuch interested in electronis (esp control sys & robotics)
I've recently completed doing the parallel port interfacing, use of buffer ICs, simple
digital logics, etc

Now I want to go for the microcontrollers. However I've no previous knowledge in it. I've
been reading some (can say many) internet articles about uC since a couple of
weeks. Reading all those stuffs I think that I can get started. I've many things in
mind but right now I just want to learn the uC.

Browsing through a number of robotics sites I came to know that PICs (esp 16F84) are most
commonly used uC. So I started reading about it. I found it easy to built a programmer
( the NOPP, TOPIC, etc) and a bit difficult to write the program (in assembly) yet
OK and easily convertable to .HEX file by MPASM and easy to burn to the uC using the
NOPP.EXE and not much expensive (i never knew). But the problem is I don't know wheather
it is available (..also affordable) in Nepal (if its available & affordable in India it
must be adjustable in Nepal). For all these reasons I started to look for the substitute
(cheap, easily available, programmer that can be easily built & easy to write program).

In the course details of Elx & Comm Engineering I've once seen about uC and esp the
8085 series. So i thought these must be available here. And right in this forum I got
to know a lot about it. Yet my confusions are not clear. As a begineer I want the
cheapest uC for which it is easy to build programmer circuit (by myself), and write
the program. Here in this forum I came to know about Amtel 8051, Amtel AVR 8051
series.

The main question:-
Considering the price (the most) and ease of building programmer & writing program; among
PIC 16F84, AT89C51\52, AT89C2051, Amtel AVRs or others which one would be a better