PDA

View Full Version : AVR and LCD

thevikas
01-31-2006, 01:38 PM
Hi All,

I have tried lcd "hello world" for past 3 weeks with no success. Im using winavr to compile and run on the circuit. circuit has 2 line lcd with atmega8535. the data lines on portD, RW/E/RS on first 3 bits of portC. I never know what is the problem. The init has no output so show it suceeded. the contrast pin changes also never show anything when i change the resistance on VR. Is there anyway i can get out of this misery.

Im not a pro. learning avr programming and electronics from scratch.
Im a too good software developer from gurgaon. I need assistance in this matter badly.

Any kind of help will appreciated.

regards,
vikas

vikas
01-31-2006, 03:45 PM
http://www.roboticsindia.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=75

thevikas
01-31-2006, 03:55 PM
thanks. i checked many resources including this one.

is there a way to know that my circuit is basically working. like if the VR could show somehting changing?

thevikas
02-01-2006, 09:20 AM
the lcd im using is "ccm1620 csl ls", if that helps.

ice
02-02-2006, 02:00 PM
is there a way to know that my circuit is basically working. like if the VR could show somehting changing?

Is your basic avr circuit working..like for example is it able to blink an LED?

I just checked the datasheet of your LCD.
Looks like its controlled by the Hitachi HD44780 controller or a compatible one..

Post your lcd code here..Ill try to help out.

ashu
02-03-2006, 05:46 PM
hey ,
Is ur Program ok ? make sure ur are pulsing the Initial state 3 times
with Proper delays of 40ms each and then of 100us and then of 15ms
and make sure u r adjusting the Contrast pin so that the Black
Matrices disappear !

Rupin
02-04-2006, 12:50 AM
do one thing try to incorporate simple delays all lcd trouble starts when delays are not long enough.also see to it that the lcd does get on
and set contrast to 0 V.

thevikas
02-04-2006, 12:42 PM
chat transcript with admin....