Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GSM/GPRS Module

  1. #1
    Senior Member T-1000 debu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    338

    Default GSM/GPRS Module

    I was just browsing the Sunrom website and saw this
    LINK

    It would be cool to interface with a robot. I can imagine, call your robot on its GSM number and give instructions, or give SMS instructions or simply use GPRS to send your robot instructions over the internet!!

    And its quite reasonable, considering the price-vs-features, and the general sunrom-over-charging-scheme-of-things.

    Nice one Sunrom!!

    Edit: Ok, Viral, from Sunrom sent me the datasheet of this unit, seems fairly easy to operate using just your uC to send AT+xxxx commands over rs232, though there is an excellent 56 page description of how to use SPI to do just the same thing.

  2. #2
    Senior Member T-1000
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    728
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default

    Good modem, considering the interfaces.

    but, you can very well use your existing mobile phone (or buy second hand sony eric.) , buy the data cable (RS 232) and pump in AT commands!!

    However, RS 232 data cables are getting obsolete, replaced by USB ones. Use them while they live!!!

    Another interesting way will be to interface with bluetooth.. now that almost every mobile phones have them..
    Get a bluetooth - serial adaptor, fix it on the bot, use ur mobile/palm/PDA (with bluetooth) to control it!!
    .... I didnt do it ! ....

  3. #3
    Senior Member T-1000
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    728
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default

    @ agyeya !!!

    talk of multiple posting!!
    and from an IIT guy!!!

    :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
    .... I didnt do it ! ....

  4. #4
    Senior Member Cyborg
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    162

    Default


    AGYEYA!!

    What the hell are you doing ?
    Spoiling the name of the Insti by your nonsensical ghodagiri postings.

    Learn some manners of internet forums and use some commonsense.

    If any of your seniors told you to spam the forums, tell them you are spoiling the name of the insti.

    For such advertizements, just one posting, and in a separate new thread is enough.

    To rectify this mistake, you should go back and delete all your postings in other threads.
    (find the edit & delete buttons on right, when you look at your old posts.)

    Its very bad manners to post ads not relevant to a thread. that too multiple times.



    take care,

    Vivek
    Vivek
    --
    " To get working ideas effectively, I try to fail as fast as I can. "
    Richard Feynman
    --
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqlawTD_9B0

  5. #5
    Super Moderator T-1000 docel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    BANGALORE
    Posts
    1,441
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Agyeya's posts are "TRASh"ed :evil:

    -Mod.
    docel
    ^Anything is possible..
    after YOU prove it!!

    http://bangalorerobotics.tripod.com

  6. #6
    Member Advanced User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Coimbatore
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Yes.... I happen to set notifications to the topics which I post. On the other day, I happen to get a mail that I received a mail that I have got a reply. To my surprise, it was the same old story in the reply!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •