Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Servo motor control : pc parallel port

Default Servo motor control : pc parallel port

How do we go about controlling a servo motor using pc parallel port??
    Is it even possible??

I came across many links for stepper but no relevant link for a servo motor

Also, the motor i have has 5 wires while on the web, i read of only servos of 3 wires. It is most probably not a stepper ass resistance readings do not comply and are very odd

Also, the motor runs using two wires connected to an adaptor which makes me doubt if it is a servo or not

Senior Member T-1000
    Blog Entries

Its not a servo motor.
    Post a pic to remove all the mystery surrounding this mysterious object.

.... I didnt do it ! ....

http://s686.photobucket.com/albums/v...IMG00083-1.jpg
    http://s686.photobucket.com/albums/v...IMG00082-1.jpg
    http://s686.photobucket.com/albums/v...t=IMG00081.jpg

I am new to photo sharing so forgive me if the images are not shown

If you can see the images, then the paired wires can be used to run the motor by an adaptor while the other three do not respond to voltage

Senior Member T-1000
    Blog Entries

its a dc motor with an encoder.

Senior Member T-1000
    Blog Entries

It is possible to interface with PC parallel port, but does you PC have one?
    You will need a driver.

where did you get this from? did you rip it off from some old machines, or did a shopkeeper rip you off saying this will give 10Kg torque and can be driven at 3v??

None of the above
    Actually my brother got his from his seniors at college
    Is this a pseudo servo motor?? What function does this serve??

My PC has a parallel port so it is not a problem

How do we go about interfacing it?? Is it very complicated?? Till now, I have done very few projects (stepper motor pc interface, rc car pc interface)??