Thread: Dev boards

Junior Member User

Lightbulb Dev boards

sir,
    i have some questions which i wud like
    2 be clarified:
    1)sir,im a first yr student who has studied c in 11th and 12th class..now coming to electronics
    i know only basics..so shud one start with 8051 Family or AVR family?
    2)which is easier to program?(considering the online tutorials it seems that 8051 is)
    3)what`s the ideal way for a beginner to start so that he can handle the hobby more productively?
    4)Shud one try Arduino or Avr?
    plz suggest the best uC for line follower citing the above questions..and also suggest the dev board..?
    i have made the mech bot and hav won the prize of most innovative design..i know soldering and other stuff like working with diodes,voltage regulators,capacitors etc.
    plz do suggest me some good shops in delhi where i can buy stuff..
    also give an overall review of the online shops and the best among them..

Blog Entries

1. Both are good , AVR is what ill recommend for starters due to a lot of free code. 8051 is recommend in production systems as it gives nice price performance. ( to me all are same and good in one thing or the other )
    2. 89v52rd2 ( 8051 ) , just requires a serial port ... couldnt get easier, Arduino is the same too , AVR /PIC require simple ISP's
    3. Do a project dont just learn and forget
    4. Arduino is Avr with a framework ... u will use avr if you go with arduino

U dont need a uC for line following

Would love to see your bot .. share some pics

Buy online , higher quality and with basic support , look at Probots , they are pretty cheap or nex robotics or nsk electronics.

Give me your dream project idea and then ill tell you how to get there ... Ull love to work on something that you love.
    Vikas Patial

Senior Member Cyborg

Quote Originally Posted by irobocop View Post
    sir,
    i have some questions which i wud like
    2 be clarified: