Thread: what are the requirements for setting an online business

Junior Member Newbie

Smile what are the requirements for setting an online business

hi
    I am new here and i am a graphic designer.I am planning to open an online robot shop for some money.I want to know what are the requirements for setting an online business.
    Like sales tax wtc.

Thank you

Blog Entries

A TIN is required if you wish to sell India wide.
    But you will see most online shops do not follow any rules.

If you do not have an idea about what you are selling i would recommend not getting into this business as its highly technical. And Students ask for a lot of support and Bad WoM travels fast.

If you do anyway , Just use magento or any free open source free shop script , tie up with a payment processor fill in your shop with inventory and the go around promoting ... its not as simple as it sound though .
    Vikas Patial

Senior Member T-1000

Quote Originally Posted by dsjoshi View Post
    hi
    I am new here and i am a graphic designer.I am planning to open an online robot shop for some money.I want to know what are the requirements for setting an online business.
    Like sales tax wtc.

Thank you
    You know Jack Welch decided that GE should get out those businesses in which it wasn't world number 1 or 2. Similarly, in online businesses, you really can't succeed if you aren't top 1 or 2 or maybe 3.

Its already a crowded market in India for online robotics. You should have rock bottom prices, or some special value addition, and huge range. Your customers are going to be students and novices, so they'll buy components from you but expect the whole solution. I mean, unless you have investments lined up, don't get into this business.

I'd love it though if somebody can come up with online retailers selling everything electronics under the sun, like www.dealextreme.com

That said, whatever you decide, good luck!
    --
    Mohit Mahajan,
    www.BioZen.co.in